INTACH lectures:
Reversibility in book and paper conservation

CASTELLANOCATALÀ

  • Event: INTACH lectures.
  • Organization: INTACH, Indian National Trust for Art and Cultural Heritage.
  • Lecture: Reversibility in book and paper conservation.
    It is in fact a revisiting of the same lecture given at the Cores Symposium, organized by Syntrawest, Vlaanderen Departement Cultuur, Jeugd en media
  • Abstract:
    Is reversibility a guarantee for good conservation?
    Should it be our main goal, as conservators?
    A discussion of this controversial issue seen form several points of view:
    – Physical phenomenon (solubility, and others).
    – Theoretical point of view (revert along time).
    – Linguistics (is it the right word?).
    A few examples will illustrate to what extent can we apply these theoretical aspects in the conservation practice, seeking to get a final conclusion that replies to the first given questions.
  • Venue: Online.
  • Fee: Free. To register and to receive the link for the talks, please send us an e-mail with details of the organization or institution you are affiliated to and your designation to conservationtraining.ici@gmail.com.
    Previous lectures now available on INTACH Conservation Institute YouTube channel.
  • Audience: Paper conservators, curators, historians, librarians, archivists.
  • Language: English.
  • Date: October 19th, 2020. 17:00 IST, 13:30 CEST (12:30 BST, London Summer TIme).
  • Other linksdownload the lecture notes here.

(Subtitles available in ENGLISH, SPANISH and CATALAN)

Reversibility in Book and Paper Conservation